Police SWBCU formation

From an announcement that police made available on social media:

South West BCU Goes Live – 23 May 2018

Today the four boroughs of Wandsworth, Richmond, Merton and Kingston are merging into one single policing unit. This will be known as the South West Basic Command Unit, or SW BCU.

From a resident’s perspective you should notice very little difference. Our officers will still be delivering policing locally, based at police stations on their specific boroughs and working closely with the local authorities to make the positive changes that you want to see in your local area. At the heart of it all, our core aims and principles remain the same: to prevent crime and disorder, to safeguard the vulnerable and to protect the public.

Chief Superintendent Sally Benatar said; “We have been working closely with our four local authorities, key partners and community groups to prepare for this change. I am excited to be leading the South West BCU as we start our new operating model today.”

Remember you can always report crime to us online via our website: https://www.met.police.uk/ro/report/

Our website is also the place where you can find your local ward, find the names of your ward officers, and access the top reported crimes for your area. The ward pages also allow you to voice your concerns in a poll which will help influence the priorities for your ward in the months ahead.

You can find your ward pages by typing your address or postcode into the Find Your Area section on our website here: https://www.met.police.uk/

If you would like to report crime in person anywhere in the South-West BCU, our 24 hour police stations are:

  • Wandsworth – Lavender Hill Police Station 176 Lavender Hill SW11
  • Richmond – Twickenham Police Station 41 London Road Twickenham TW1 3SY
  • Merton – Wimbledon Police Station 15-23 Queen’s Road SW19 8NN
  • Kingston – Police Station 5-7 High Street Kingston-Upon-Thames KT1 1LB